What Can “Thrift Shop” Teach Me about Self Esteem?

I wear your granddad’s clothes. I look incredible.

Why do I love the song Thrift Shop by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis so much? It’s silly, and while catchy, will probably grow annoying very soon. And yet, right now, I love it.

Music has always been an outlet. An expression of emotions. A catalyst for feelings. I can be really happy and Arms by Christina Perri will come on and suddenly I’m crying. Music has power for me.

However, not all songs have the same impact. Thrift Store is one of a few that sticks out currently. Why?

I guess what it boils down to is its self deprecating humour. It makes fun of its music genre, of those shopping at thrift stores, as well as those who only buy designer things. It makes fun of people for whom appearance is important, while joking about the artist’s own huge ego.

I like such self awareness in a person. I too like analyzing society and one’s own hang ups. The song does both. But unlike me, it does so without the artist putting himself down in the end. In fact, the artist describes himself as “incredible.”

How can I get that kind of an ego? Where I know my weaknesses, my eccentricities and accept them. Where I know society is judging me and I still embrace it. Is that something I can achieve or is it an inner attitude I have to born with?

 

 

Can I be what I want to be?
Or am I stuck with same old me?

The negatives outweigh the good
I like myself less than I should

And yet the good I won’t forget
Focus on that, and I’m all set

Leave a Reply

